IFMIF-DONES Users Workshop (on-line)

On-line (virtual)
Angel Ibarra (CIEMAT) , Wojciech Krolas (IFJ PAN Kraków) , Tonci Tadic (Ruder Boskovic Institute)

The engineering design of the IFMIF-DONES facility is nearing its completion and the start of the construction activities is expected soon. To better prepare for the scientific opportunities offered at the new facility we are calling this First IFMIF-DONES Users Workshop.

The workshop will be held on-line as a virtual event.

Key objectives of the Workshop are to identify new ideas that could still be implemented in the design of the facility, review the priorities of the irradiation programme, as well as to build up an IFMIF-DONES user´s community for fusion and non-fusion related applications.

Proposed topics:

  1. Current status of IFMIF-DONES design and the construction and commissioning plan.
  2. Definition of pre-DONES activities: irradiation database and technologies to be developped before using the facility.
  3. Roadmap of material qualification for DEMO at IFMIF-DONES.
  4. High Flux Test Module: structural materials irradiation needs for fusion applications including planning of sample loads and their post irradiationr exploitation.
  5. Other irradiation modules to be placed in the high-flux radiation environment.
  6. Opportunities for the production of radioisotopes at DONES.
  7. Collimated neutron beam facility, proposed experiments and operation mode.
  8. Implementation of a neutron time-of-flight facility at DONES - feasibility evaluation and experimental opportunities.
  9. Any other possible experiments.

We kindly invite you to send abstracts and contribute to the discussion. The program will be composed of a small number of key-note talks to introduce the proposed topics along with a number of contributed presentations selected based on submitted abstracts. Participation of young researchers is encouraged. The authors of posters will be invited to present short 3 minute flash talks to present their contributions. Abstracts are due before July 15th, 2022.

More detailed information along with a schematic program of the meeting will be distributed by July 15, 2022.

The discussion and conclusions of the meeting will be compiled and published as a report.

We are looking forward to your contributions and participation.

Best regards,

Angel Ibarra, Wojciech Królas, Tonci Tadic


This work has been carried out within the framework of the EUROfusion Consortium, funded by the European Union via the Euratom Research and Training Programme (Grant Agreement No 101052200 — EUROfusion). Views and opinions expressed are however those of the author(s) only and do not necessarily reflect those of the European Union or the European Commission. Neither the European Union nor the European Commission can be held responsible for them


  • Abraham Casas
  • Adam Maj
  • Adrian Fabich
  • Alain Letourneau
  • Alejandro Rodríguez Barroso
  • Almudena Diez
  • Anderson Steven Peña Sabogal
  • Andrea Ceracchi
  • Angel Ibarra
  • Anna Talarowska
  • Anton Möslang
  • Antonio M. Lallena
  • Antonio Manjavacas
  • Antonio Moreno Cortes
  • Arkady Serikov
  • Barbara Bienkowska
  • Beatriz Brañas
  • Blanca Biel
  • Carlos Guerrero
  • Cayetano Prieto
  • Claudio Torregrosa Martín
  • Cristina de la Morena
  • Daniel Cano-Ott
  • Daniel Rodríguez
  • Daniel Sánchez Herranz
  • David Jimenez Rey
  • David Regidor
  • Davide Bernardi
  • Dirk Radloff
  • Dmitry TERENTYEV
  • Eberhard Diegele
  • Eladio Montoya
  • Ermile Gaganidze
  • Fouad Keramsi
  • Frederik Arbeiter
  • Georg Schlindwein
  • Gerald Pintsuk
  • Giacomo Aiello
  • Gianluca D'Ovidio
  • Grzeg Wojtani
  • Grzegorz Gałązka
  • Guangming Zhou
  • Hiroyasu TANIGAWA
  • Hugo Gonzalez
  • Hugo Martínez de Lahidalga
  • Hyun Wook Kim
  • Ignacio Porras
  • Ivan Podadera
  • Jarir Aktaa
  • Javier Praena
  • jorge maestre
  • Jose Acebron
  • Jose Aguilar
  • Juan Antonio Moreno Pérez
  • Juan Carlos Marugán
  • Juanjo Rueda
  • Julio Gutierrez Moreno
  • Kentaro Ochiai
  • M. Carmen Ruiz Ruiz
  • Manuel Antonio Vázquez Barroso
  • Manuel Peres Alonso
  • Marek Lewitowicz
  • Maria Sanchez Arenillas
  • Mario García
  • Marta Anguiano
  • Marta Serrano Garcia
  • María Luque
  • Masayuki Ohta
  • Michael Rieth
  • Moisés Weber
  • Moses Chung
  • Pablo González Carrasco
  • Pablo Torres-Sánchez
  • Pavel Vladimirov
  • Pierre BOULOGNE
  • Pilar Gil
  • Rafal Prokopowicz
  • Rahul Rayaprolu
  • Regina Knitter
  • Rocío Fernández Saavedra
  • Saerom Kwon
  • Salvador Gutiérrez
  • Santiago Becerril-Jarque
  • Satoshi SATO
  • Sehila M Gonzalez de Vicente
  • SeongHee Hong
  • Shunsuke Kenjo
  • Thierry Stora
  • titiksha joshi
  • Tonci Tadic
  • Trinidad García
  • Ulrich Dorda
  • Urszula Wiącek
  • Vasiliki Anagnostopoulou
  • Verónica González de Lena
  • Violeta Redondo Gallego
  • Víctor Gutiérrez
  • Wojciech Królas
  • Wojciech Zając
  • Wolfgang Pantleon
  • Xavier Ledoux
  • Yoolim Cheon
  • Yuefeng Qiu